scifibbmod: (Default)
[personal profile] scifibbmod

If there are any problems with any of the links, if there is research in a particular area or additional links that you would like to suggest we add, or if there are any canon/reference/resource/meta comms out there for any sci-fi or fantasy fandoms that we have missed, don't hesitate to let us know!

General Resources
Art Resources
How to Draw Nice Maps: http://www.zompist.com/howto2.htm
Athletic Body Diversity - Reference for Artists: http://ninamatsumoto.wordpress.com/2010/12/18/athletic-body-diversity-reference-for-artists/
Drawing Tutorials: http://www.dueysdrawings.com/drawing_tutorials.html
Free Drawing Resources List: http://emptyeasel.com/2009/02/23/the-big-list-of-free-drawing-resources-educational-books-videos-podcasts-more/
Drawing and Sketching Resources: http://www.squidoo.com/makingamark
FIGURE DRAWING: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-people-tutorials.html
Kids: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-kids-children.html
Babies: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-babies-baby.html
Human Figures & Their Proportions: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/proportions-human-figures-bodies.html
Arms & Hands: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-hands-tutorials.html
Backs & Shoulders: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-human-backs.html
Clothing: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-clothingwrinkles-tutorials.html
Chests / Upper Body / Torso: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/draw-human-torsoes-body-figures.html
Drapery & Folds: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/things/drawing-drapery-folds-clothes.html
Legs & Feet: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-foot-feet-tutorials.html
Necks: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-necks-throats-tutorials.html
Figures in Action & Motion: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/running-walking-action-motion.html
Figures in Groups or Crowds: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-groups-figures.html
Figures in Landscape Drawings: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/nature-drawing/drawing-figures-people-landscapes.html
How To Draw The Face: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons.html
Capture People's Likeness: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-portraits-capture-likeness.html
Draw Portraits: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/portraits-portraiture.html
Eyes: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-eyes-tutorials.html
Eyebrows: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-eye-brows.html
Eyelashes: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-eye-lashes.html
Caricatures: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/cc-how-to-draw-caricatures.html
Facial Expressions: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/drawing-facial-expressions.html
Female Eyes: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-femalegirleyes-tutorials.html
Noses: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-noses-tutorials.html
Mouths: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-mouths-tutorials.html
Teeth: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-teeth-tutorials.html
Lips: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-lips-tutorials.html
Hair: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-humanhair-tutorials.html
Curly Hair: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-curlyhair-tutorials.html
Straight Hair: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-straighthair-tutorials.html
Ears: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-ears-tutorials.html
Wrinkles: http://www.drawinghowtodraw.com/drawing-lessons/drawing-faces-lessons/howtodraw-facewrinkles-tutorials.html

Virtual Lighting Studio: http://www.zvork.fr/vls/

Free Photoshop Brushes: http://www.brusheezy.com
Free Fonts: http://www.dafont.com
Free Textures: http://mayang.com/textures
Color Scheme Designer: http://colorschemedesigner.com
Hand Drawn-Style Resources: http://www.1stwebdesigner.com/freebies/70-hand-drawing-style-resources-brushes-texturesicons-and-tutorials/

Free Programs
GIMP: http://www.gimp.org/downloads/
openCanvas 1.1: http://wistinga.online.fr/opencanvas/



Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Other Language Resources
Business Dictionary: http://www.businessdictionary.com/
Medical Dictionary: http://www.medterms.com/script/main/hp.asp
WebMD: http://www.webmd.com/
English to Latin to English Dictionary: http://www.freedict.com/onldict/lat.html
Notre Dame's Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid: http://www.nd.edu/~archives/latgramm.htm
Wikipedia: http://wikipedia.org
Feudal, Medieval, and Castle Terms: http://www.hemyockcastle.co.uk/feudal.htm
Glossary of Terms (Prehistoric, Roman Saxon, Medieval, Ecclesiastical, and General Technical) from Archaelogy UK: http://www.digital-documents.co.uk/archi/glossary.htm
Flower-Dictionary.com: http://flower-dictionary.com/index.html
Geography Dictionary and Glossary for Students: http://www.tuition.com.hk/geography/
Glossary of Religious Terms: http://www.religioustolerance.org/glossary.htm
Feudal Terms of England (and other places): http://langs.eserver.org/feudal-dictionary.txt
Legal Terms and Definitions: http://dictionary.law.com/
Guide to Writing Systems and Languages of the World: http://www.omniglot.com/index.htm
The Language Construction Kit: http://www.zompist.com/kit.html
Learn Na'vi: http://www.learnnavi.org/
Ardalambion: A Comprehensive Resource on Tolkein's Many Constructed Languages: http://www.uib.no/People/hnohf/
Medieval Names Archive: http://www.s-gabriel.org/names/
A Naming Language: http://www.langmaker.com/ml0102.htm
RhymeZone Rhyming Dictionary: http://www.rhymezone.com/
Old West Slang: http://www.legendsofamerica.com/we-slang.html
The Bible Dictionary of Words and Phrases: http://www.bibarch.com/glossary/index.html

Generators
Seventh Sanctum: http://seventhsanctum.com/
Timeline Generator: http://www.fantasist.net/timeline.shtml
Fantasy Name Generator: http://www.rinkworks.com/namegen/
Chris Pound's Name Generation Page: http://www.ruf.rice.edu/~pound/
(Fantasy) Town Generator: http://www.rdinn.com/town_generator.php
Online World Generator: http://www.ibiblio.org/lunar/pck.html
Baby Names: http://babynames.com

World-Building Tools
Magical World Builder: http://www.web-writer.net/fantasy/
The Mythpoet's Manual (Fantasy World Building): http://www.rpgmud.com/WorldBuilding/Mythopoets/tmm.html
Fantasy World Builder Questions: http://www.larseighner.com/world_builder/index.html
Fantasy World Building Questions: http://www.sfwa.org/2009/08/fantasy-worldbuilding-questions/
Designing A Fantasy World: http://www.everything2.com/index.pl?node_id=1519418
Creating Fantasy and Science Fiction Worlds: http://www.elfwood.com/farp/thewriting/liljenbergworlds/index.html
World Building (Constructing A Sci-Fi Universe): http://www.sandrewswann.com/fiction/essays/worldbuilding

Writing/Editing Resources and Articles/Blogs
Write or Die by Dr. Wicked: http://lab.drwicked.com/writeordie.html
Writertopia: http://www.writertopia.com/toolbox/meters
Dark Erotica: http://darkerotica.blogspot.com/
TalkToYoUniverse: http://talktoyouniverse.blogspot.com
Mystery Writing is Murder: http://mysterywritingismurder.blogspot.com
The Other Side of the Story: http://blog.janicehardy.com/
How to Not Suck: http://notsuck.livejournal.com
Writers Unleashed / Life Unleashed: http://victorialynnschmidt.com
Daily Writing Tips: http://www.dailywritingtips.com
Writer's Knowledge Base: http://hiveword.com/wkb/search
9 way to plot a novel: http://www.darcypattison.com/series/9-ways-to-plot-a-novel/
Build a stronger Plot: http://www.darcypattison.com/series/build-a-stronger-plot/
30 Days to Stronger Scenes Series: http://www.darcypattison.com/revision/30-days-to-stronger-scenes-series-toc/
15 Days to Stronger Characters: http://www.darcypattison.com/revision/15-days-to-stronger-characters/
30 Days to a Stronger Novel: http://www.darcypattison.com/revision/30-days-to-a-stronger-novel/

Purdue Online Writing Lab: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/561/01/
Proofreading Tips - Grammar Girl - Quick and Dirty Tips: http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/proofreading.aspx
Editing and Proofreading: http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/handouts/proofread.html
VirginiaTech - Proofreading: http://www.ucc.vt.edu/Stdysk/proofing.html
Guide to Grammar and Writing: http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/index.htm
Common errors in English language: http://www.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/errors.html#errors
"The Beta Bible": http://www.fangedfour.com/lasttime/betabible.htm
Beta Reader Responsibilities: http://www.sugarquill.net/index.php?action=ask#beta
Beta Reader Site: http://www.perfectimagination.co.uk/

Presentation and Readability for LJ and Beyond: http://community.livejournal.com/fandom_grammar/9516.html
MPAA Ratings: http://www.mpaa.org/ratings/what-each-rating-means
Fan Rating System: http://tfrrs.tripod.com/

Boredom Relief: http://www.blifaloo.com/

Research Resources
Mysterious Britain: http://www.mysteriousbritain.co.uk/
Archaeology UK: http://www.digital-documents.co.uk/
Roadside America: http://www.roadsideamerica.com/
Legends of America: http://www.legendsofamerica.com/
Lists of Forms of Government: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_forms_of_government
The Annual FBI Uniform Crime Reports: http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr
The Writer's Forensics Blog: http://writersforensicsblog.wordpress.com/
Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Forensic Medicine (CONTAINS GRAPHIC IMAGES): http://www.geradts.com/anil/ij/indexpapers.html
Forensic Pathology Index: http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/FORHTML/FORIDX.html
Suitet 101: Forensic Science: http://www.suite101.com/forensicscience
Guide to Crime Scene Investigation: http://www.homesecurity.us/articles/guide-to-crime-scene-investigation.html
All About Forensic Psychology: http://www.all-about-forensic-psychology.com/
The Graveyard Shift: http://www.leelofland.com/wordpress
Historical Resources for Fanfic Writers: http://seacouver.slashcity.net/history/
Medieval Demographics Made Easy: http://www.io.com/~sjohn/demog.htm
Encyclopedia Mythica: http://www.pantheon.org/
Castle of Spirits: http://www.castleofspirits.com/
Monstropedia: http://www.monstropedia.org/index.php?title=Public_html/
List of Legendary Creatures: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_legendary_creatures
Medieval Bestiary: http://bestiary.ca/beasts/beastalphashort.htm
Essays - Swords and Swordsmanship: http://www.thearma.org/essays.htm
Sword Care: http://www.trueswords.com/sword_care_maintenance.php
A Guide to Firearms (CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE MOVIE INCEPTION): http://chn-breathmint.livejournal.com/482045.html
Modern Firearms and Ammunition: http://world.guns.ru/main-e.htm
Internet Movie Firearms Database: http://www.imfdb.org/wiki/Main_Page
Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
A Fanfic Writer's Guide to "The System": http://vamphile.livejournal.com/208707.html
A User's guide to PTSD: http://rachelmanija.livejournal.com/541123.html
Basic Cooking Terms: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-are-some-basic-cooking-terms.htm
Body Language: http://www.businessballs.com/body-language.htm
Religious Beliefs: http://www.religioustolerance.org/
A Guide to Helicopters in Cinema and Television: http://www.rotaryaction.com
The Internet Movie Plane Databas: http://www.impdb.org/index.php?title=The_Internet_Movie_Plane_Database

LJ Comms
[info]fandom_grammar [info]multilingual [info]little_details [info]ask_a_cop [info]military_beta [info]science_beta [info]britpickery [info]multinationbeta [info]sga_canada_help [info]college_help

Fandom Specific Resources

Battlestar Galactica
[info]bsg_canon Battlestar Galactica Wiki: http://en.battlestarwiki.org/wiki/Main_Page

Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel
[info]btvsangel_canon [info]angelquotes
Buffyverse Dialogue Database: http://vrya.net/bdb/
The BTVS Writers' Guild: http://btvswritersguild.dymphna.net/
The Angel Zone of the BTVS Writers' Guild: http://www.fangedfour.com/deepin/
Slayerverse gallery: http://www.slayerverse.org/svggaldeluxe/
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel Wiki: http://buffy.wikia.com/wiki/Buffy_the_Vampire_Slayer_and_Angel

Doctor Who/The Sarah Jane Adventures/Torchwood
[info]dwcanon_fodder [info]dw_britglish [info]who_beta [info]tw_transcripts
Who Transcripts: http://who-transcripts.atspace.com/
Doctor Who Wiki: http://tardis.wikia.com/

DC Comics/Marvel Comics
[info]canonistas
http://scans-daily.dreamwidth.org/
DC Comics Wiki: http://dc.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Marvel Comics Wiki: http://marvel.wikia.com/Main_Page

Firefly/Serenity
[info]fireflybeta
Consequence Free: http://emungere.compromisingpositions.net/firefly/firefly_dictionary.html
Firefly Wiki: http://www.fireflywiki.org/

Harry Potter
 [info]hp_betas [info]hp_britglish
Spells used in the "Harry Potter" Series: http://www.angelfire.com/mi3/cookarama/spells.html
Harry Potter Spells: http://hparchive.tripod.com/spells.html
Harry Potter Glossary - Spells and Charms: http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art11045.asp -- also has links to Timeline, Character Listing, Monster Listing, Magical Term Glossary, and Location Listing at the end of the page
Harry Potter Lexicon: http://www.hplex.info/
--which also has some great maps of hogwarts: http://www.hplex.info/atlas/hogwarts/atlas-h.html
Harry Potter Wiki: http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Horatio Hornblower/Master and Commander/Other Age of Sail Fandoms
 [info]aos_resources [info]kiss_me_hardy
Comprehensive Hornblower Fan Site: http://scaryfangirl.com
Horatio Hornblower Wiki: http://hornblower.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Merlin
 [info]merlin_betas [info]scrying_bowl
Merlin Wiki: http://merlin.wikia.com/wiki/Merlin_Wiki

One Piece/Pirates of the Caribbean/Other Pirate Fandoms
GumGum.oRg: http://www.gumgum.org/
One Piece (In French): http://www.eastblue.net/
Erin's Historical and Nautical Notes: http://www.blackpearltales.net/erins_site/index.html
Elke's Pirates of the Caribbean Fandom Page: http://elke.slashcity.org/potc.html
Writer's Resouce: Historical and Technical Info: http://community.livejournal.com/pirategasm/730029.html
One Piece Wiki: http://onepiece.wikia.com/
Pirates of the Caribbean Wiki: http://pirates.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Star Trek (All Series)
 [info]klingon [info]wani_ra_yakana
Daystrom Institute Technical Library: http://ditl.org/
Memory Alpha: http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Portal:Main
Star Trek Online: http://www.strekonline.com/
The Official Star Trek Site: http://startrek.com/

Stargate (All Series)
 [info]sga_beta [info]sga_canada_help [info]sga_reference
Gateworld: http://www.gateworld.net
Stargate Wiki: http://stargate.wikia.com/wiki/Stargate_Wiki

Supernatural
  [info]spn_possession [info]spn_caps [info]spn_betas
Transcripts: http://winchesters.slashverse.com/tscripts.html
Supernatural Wiki: http://supernatural.wikia.com/wiki/Supernatural_Wiki
 

Other Fandom Wiki Links

Alice in Wonderland Wiki: http://aliceinwonderland.wikia.com/wiki/Alice_in_Wonderland_Wiki
Babylon 5 Wiki: http://babylon5.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Chronicles of Narnia Wiki: http://narnia.wikia.com/wiki/The_Chronicles_of_Narnia_Wiki
Chrono Trigger Wiki: http://chrono.wikia.com/wiki/Chronopedia
Cowboy Bebop Wiki: http://cowboybebop.wikia.com/wiki/Cowboy_Bebop_Wiki
Eureka Wiki: http://eureka.wikia.com/
Farscape Wiki: http://farscape.wikia.com/wiki/Farscape_Encyclopedia_Project:Main_Page
Final Fantasy Wiki: http://finalfantasy.wikia.com/wiki/Final_Fantasy_Wiki
Fringe Wiki: http://fringepedia.net/wiki/Fringepedia OR http://fringe.wikia.com/wiki/FringeWiki
Fullmetal Alchemist Wiki: http://fma.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Ghostbusters Wiki: http://ghostbusters.wikia.com/wiki/Ghostbusters_Wiki
Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy Wiki: http://hitchhikers.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Inception Wiki: http://inception.wikia.com/wiki/Inception_Wiki
Legend of Zelda Wiki: http://www.zeldawiki.org/Main_Page
Lord of the Rings Wiki: http://lotr.wikia.com/
LOST Wiki: http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Mass Effect Wiki: http://masseffect.wikia.com/
Misfits Wiki: http://e4-misfits.wikia.com/
Primeval Wiki: http://primeval.wikia.com/wiki/Primeval_Wiki
Resident Evil Wiki: http://residentevil.wikia.com/Resident_Evil_Wiki
Sanctuary Wiki: http://sanctuary.wikia.com/wiki/The_Sanctuary_Network
Star Wars Wiki: http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Tamora Pierce's Tortall Series Wiki: http://tamorapierce.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Tortall
Terminator Wiki: http://terminator.wikia.com/wiki/Terminator_Wiki
Transformers Wiki: http://tfwiki.net/wiki/Main_Page
The X-Files Wiki: http://x-files.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
 

From:
Anonymous( )Anonymous This account has disabled anonymous posting.
OpenID( )OpenID You can comment on this post while signed in with an account from many other sites, once you have confirmed your email address. Sign in using OpenID.
User
Account name:
Password:
If you don't have an account you can create one now.
Subject:
HTML doesn't work in the subject.

Message:

 
Notice: This account is set to log the IP addresses of everyone who comments.
Links will be displayed as unclickable URLs to help prevent spam.

Profile

scifibbmod: (Default)
scifibbmod

May 2011

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated May. 24th, 2017 04:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios